OpenSplice DDS Forum
Emmanuel Prunet

Multitopic in isocpp2

Hi

I'm new at Opensplice DDS and I was wondering if there was any way to create a listener of a Topic corresponding to a join ( like in SQL) of multiple Topics.

From what I saw Multitopics are the solution but they don't seems to be implemented in Opensplice DDS

Hi Emmanuel,

You're right in that MultiTopics are indeed targeting that functionality and also in your observation that this functionality isn't supported yet (actually by none of the current DDS-vendors).

The reason behind not having implemented this (yet) is that there are still gaps in the semantics in case of incomplete information in 2 situations:

(1) when should you first get a joined-set (i.e. only when its complete w.r.t. availability of all the attributes from all topics that you're interested in

(2) when should you last get updates on a joined-set (i.e. up to the point where at least one of the attributes has reached the end of its lifecycle e.g. is part of a disposed instance)

That said, its not rocket-science to do such a joint on application-level (as we ARE following a relational model isn't it) .. and apply some basic semantics for the above ..

We're still looking at some good (business-)cases that would justify investment in that piece of missing spec-coverage so perhaps you can contribute yours :)

Hi Hans and thank you for your quick response. I'll explain why we need MultiTopic.

We have a conceptual model where we have a lot of inheritance, to simplify let's say we have :

A( k , a ) 

B( b )

C( c )

where k is primary key and B and C inherits from A. In our case B and C are exclusive , but at runtime a B can become a C and a C can become a B but A can't exist by itself.

From this conceptual model we can create topics like this :

1) A( k , a , b  , c ) => not acceptable in our case because it will allocate too much memory